Vegan

5 ways to Detox your Lymphatic System

lymphatic_system_gloria_gilbere.jpg

 

Let me start by saying, I’ve been giving my lymphatic system a lot of attention lately. The lymphatic system’s main function is to cleanse toxins and protect against harmful invaders. It works by carrying our body’s waste away from the tissues and into the bloodstream. It tackles toxins that are introduced to the body from both external means (food, air, personal care products, water) as well as internal ones (damaged proteins and cellular/metabolic waste), making it a key detoxification pathway. Once the toxins enter the bloodstream, they are purified through the largest lymphatic tissue in the body, the spleen. The spleen is our main immune defense, fighting infection, holding a reserve of red and white blood cells and destroying worn-out red blood cells in the body.

I have always thought that I was fairly healthy, that was until I switched to a vegan diet and I discovered how healthy I could really be. prior to switching to a vegan diet, I was suffering from chronic pain and inflammation. The doctors had no idea what was going on and I went through series of blood work to figure it out, to no evail. Yes, I went to doctors. I am borderline ashamed of this but it really was that bad. after I went through my series of blood work that came back perfect, I was written a lovely prescription slip for some anti depressants and sent on my way. bullshit right? typical doctor move. needless to say, that wasn’t the problem here, at least not for myself. I continued to see my chiropractor and started being very adamant of taking my supplements and man-ing up and taking care of my health. I was not about to spend the rest of my life like this. Especially with two children under 3.

So after doing the 3 day raw vegan challenge, by day two mysteriously my pain vanished, which I am yet to experience again. this makes me almost frightened to eat any animal products. So I started detoxing naturally from foods, mainly raw foods. My detox symptoms started with a low grade fever, acne (something ive never experienced in my life)  my body was just emptying out anything toxic stored in my body and continues to do so. The benefits of changing my diet and naturally detoxing has had so many benefits for me, I haven’t experienced pain or felt the need to see my chiropractor for pain relief, I have more energy, motivation and clear thinking. I feel I have never been this efficient in things I do. I’m sleeping the best I have in years. I feel so positive and happy.

so with all that being said, our lymphatic system is the most important system to have running at maximum efficiency.

So these are the five ways that I’ve incorporated into my life to support my lymphatic system to detox. First things first, drink PLENTY of water. this is imperative and I think goes without saying. I also enjoying juicing to help assist in an overall well rounded maintenance for overall health and wellness.

1)Incorporating raw foods into the diet is an easy way to keep the lymphatic system healthy on an ongoing basis. Raw foods offer high levels of naturally occurring enzymes that break down toxic buildups and promote the clearance of harmful substances in the body. Eating foods raw, in particular fruits and vegetables, is also a great way to boost the water levels in the body. Finally, raw foods are primarily alkaline, which help neutralize harmful pathogens, lessening the burden on the lymph, hence why going RAW vegan cold turkey made me go into a detox.

2) Rebounding is one of the easiest ways to pump the lymph. Rebounding is the practice of jumping on a trampoline (yes, remember when we did this for fun!?) for ten to thirty minutes. This passively moves the lymph while stimulating the circulation of blood throughout the body. Numerous studies have proven its efficacy, and have even shown it to improve muscle tone.

3) Lymph is about 95% water, making water essential for its health. Stay hydrated by drinking half your weight in ounces of water a day. Without adequate water, lymphatic fluid cannot flow properly. And one of the most common causes of lymph congestion is dehydration. Water, and only water, can adequately rehydrate the body, but if you want to expedite the process, add lemon to your water. Lemon is an alkaline fruit that helps to mineralize the body and lymph. Try sipping on warm lemon water throughout the day, but don’t forget your straw! This protects the teeth’s enamel from the lemon.

4) Dry skin brushing is a favorite TCM practice. It’s a technique commonly utilized in Ayurveda for assisting in lymphatic flow and boosting circulation. You simply take a dry brush with coarse bristle and brush the skin towards the heart. This stimulates the sweat glands, opens pores, and gets rid of dead skin cells. It also encourages the movement of lymph and blood in underlying organs and tissues of the body, which helps clear built-up toxins. As a result, it can be beneficial in improving skin conditions and reducing cellulite. you can find the dry brush our family uses here. we love it, its easy to hold with a convenient strap and easy to clean, stores in its little pouch!dry-skin-brush-1-3.jpg

5) Yoga works in multiple ways to increase the flow of the lymph, relieving congestion and encouraging its detoxification. To start, inversions such as handstands, headstands and shoulder stands, and even placing the legs up the wall, reverse the effect of gravity. Much like the inversion table, this helps to drain the lymph towards the heart, escalating the rate in which it’s cleaned and filtered. Twists are also a great way to stimulate lymphatic flow. Through the practice of twisting the abdomen, the organs and muscles are squeezed, forcing the lymph out of the tissues. Finally, the natural dynamic flow through the yoga poses cause the muscles in the body to contract and relax, which is the primary way lymph moves through the body. This allows for a free flow of lymph, which prevents its stagnation and accumulation of toxins.

 

So there you have it. 5 ways to detox your lymphatic system!

Light & Love,

Rebel B

 

2 thoughts on “5 ways to Detox your Lymphatic System

    1. Thank you for reading. Glad you enjoyed it. My mother and I were just talking the other day about how amazing it is that food can naturally heal the body!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

